IB diploma

External Assessment

External Assessment refers to work that is conducted and orientated by teachers and then graded externally by examiners.
End-of-course exams are the main instruments of external assessment, but this also includes work such as the Extended Essay and the TOK essay.

To achieve the IB Diploma there are several requirements, outlined in the IB Guide (Failing Conditions). Among other requirements, we highlight the following:

 failure to comply with the requirements for CAS;

a total score lower than 24 points;

obtaining grade N in any subject;

obtaining grade E in Theory of Knowledge or Extended Essay;

achieving grade 1 in any subject or level;

obtaining grade 2 in three or more subjects (SL or HL);

achieving grade 3 or lower in four or more subjects (SL or HL);

achieving 12 points or lower in the HL subjects (for candidates who enrolled in four HL subjects, the top three results will be considered);

achieving 9 points or lower in SL subjects (for candidates who have enrolled in two SL disciplines, they must obtain at least 5 SL points);







Scroll to Top